top of page


Video: Odd Geir Saether


The Iro Haarla Trio came to existence in the Fall of 2015 as a means to perform the music of Iro Haarla in a more mobile setting. The members have played together in different  constellations through the years meaning this trio is a well-knit unit. According to Iro she could not wish for better co-musicians to perform and interpret her compositions. Being top-notch improvisors as well they bring the music the aspect of surprise.


In May 2016 Yle (the Finnish Broadcasting Company) broadcasted a studio recording by the trio done  in February 2016. 


Malmitalo, Helsinki


Wejazz, G-lab, Helsinki

2.3.2018: Victoria Nasjonal Jazzscene, Oslo, Norway.

For future  gigs please go to the "Events" -section!

Iro Haarla Trio:

Iro Haarla piano, compositions
Ulf Krokfors double bass
Markku Ounaskari drums

Photo of the trio by Maarit Kytöharju.

For more information about Iro Haarla go to  "Biography".


Markku Ounaskari,rummut/drums.


Markku Ounaskari (b. 1967) first studied drums at the Oulunkylä Pop and Jazz Conservatory and, beginning in 1987, at the Jazz Department of the Sibelius Academy. During this period, his professional career also began when he toured and recorded with two legendary Finnish groups, Piirpauke (Algazara in 1987 and Zerenade in 1989) and the Pekka Pohjola Group (Changing Waters in 1998).
Beginning in the 1990s, Ounaskari made a number of recordings and toured in Europe, Asia and the Americas with pianist Jarmo Savolainen (John’s Song in 1996, Another Story in 1997, Times Like These in 2002, Grand Style 2004 and Songs For Trio in 2006). Ounaskari has played with all the major Finnish jazz figures (journalist Petri Silas once wrote that it would be easier to list the Finnish ensembles with which Ounaskari has not played). Early in his career he also toured and recorded with both Piirpauke and the Pekka Pohjola Group, Finnish pioneers of cross-genre music.
Beginning in 1999, Ounaskari has increasingly worked with international projects and bands becoming one of the internationally best known Finnish jazz musicians. These have included the Eric Vloeimans Band, Andre Fernandes Trio, Sinikka Langeland Ensemble, Fredrik Nordström & Niklas Winter Band, Filip Augustson Quintet, Willemark-Heinilä-Ounaskari-Jormin Band, Walter Beltrami Band, Fugara, Tomasz Stanko Quartet, Trygve Seim Quartet, Rotterdam Metropole Orchestra and many others. He regularly collaborates with artists such as Fausto Beccalossi, Raoul Björkenheim, Arve Henriksen, Anders Jormin, Nils Petter Molvaer, Trygve Seim, Markus Stockhausen, Tore Brunborg, Mats Eilertsen and Lena Willemark. He has also performed with many other internationally renowned musicians, including Ray Anderson, Furio di Castri, Lars Danielsson, Marc Ducret, Hein Van De Geyn, Tim Hagans, Ed Jones, Lee Konitz, Gnuyên Lê, Rick Margitza, Ron McClure, Judy Niemack, Lars Anders Tomter, Kenny Wheeler and Vertavo String Quartet.
In 2009, Ounaskari formed Kuara with Norwegian trumpeter Per Jørgessen and Finnish pianist Samuli Mikkonen. The group’s first recording for ECM Records, Kuara – Psalms and Folk Songs, received the Emma Award for the Best Finnish Jazz Recording of the Year 2010. 2014 he received ”Yrjö Price”, the most prestigious Jazz prize in Finland. He has made more than 50 recordings in Finland and abroad including 5 recordings for ECM Records.
Petri Haussila



ULF KROKFORS, doublebass.


Selected musical background:


Edward Vesala Sound and Fury 1988-89.

Raoul Björkenheim Krakatau 1990-1997.

Jarmo Savolainen Trio: 1996-2010.

Klang (Seppo Kantonen, Markku Ounaskari): 1996-2001.

Samuli Mikkonen Trio: 1996-2004.

Iro Haarla Quintet: 2004-

Otto Donner Free for All: 2002- 2010

Esa Pietilä Trio: 2003- 2010

Juhani Aaltonen Trio: 2002-

Juhani Aaltonen Quartet: 2009-

Iro Haarla-Ulf Krokfors Loco Motife.


Selected discography:


Sound and Fury: Ode to the Death of Jazz (ECM RECORDS 1988). Krakatau: Volition (ECM 1991), Matinaal (ECM 1993) Jarmo Savolainen Trio: John ́s Sons (1996),

Sakari Kukko Quartet: Virret (Rockadillo Records) Iro Haarla-Ulf Krokfors Loco Motife: Penguine Beguine (TUM), Jazzemma 2003. Juhani Aaltonen Trio: Mother Tongue, Illusion of a Ballad (TUM) Antti Hytti Suhkan Uhka: Suhkan Uhka, 2003 (TUM) Juhani Aaltonen Quartet: Conclusions, 2010 (TUM). Kari Ikonen Karikko: Helsinski Suite 2011. Ulf Krokfors: Incense of all Our Prayers (solo doublebass),  2008. Iro Haarla Quintet: Northbound 2005, Vespers 2011 (ECM) Matti Johannes Koivu: Toisen Maailman Nimi. 2011. Juhani Aaltonen Sextet; (TUM Records) 2011. Iro Haarla Sextet;  (TUM Records) 2011. Juhani Aaltonen Trio:  (TUM Records) 2018. Jim Pembroke: If The Rain Comes, (TUM) 2014. Iro Haarla: Ante Lucem (ECM Records), 2016.




Jazz-Emma vuonna 2005, Loco Motife: Penguin Beguine-album.

 Krakatau (1992), Andre Sumelius (1999),Juhani Aaltonen (2003) and Iro Haarla (2011).


The musician of the year-award, Finnish Jazz Federation, Yrjö-award 2015.





A Stream in the WastelandIro Haarla Trio: all of these four pieces are recorded at the Gösta Serlachius Museum in Mänttä, Finland in December 2019.
00:00 / 01:04
The Prayer in Gethsemane
00:00 / 09:18
Farewell song
00:00 / 06:12
Peace is What I Leave with You
00:00 / 07:18
bottom of page